Chocolate Christmas Yule Log

Ever since I was little, I’ve loved Little Debbie’s Swiss Cake Rolls. How can you not love the delicious chocolate coated chocolate cake mixed with the creamy whipped cream-like filling? Yum…..

I’ve always wanted to try my own jelly roll cake, and I decided that Christmas would be the perfect opportunity!

A Yule Log, also called buche de Noel, is traditionally a chocolate cake roll with some sort of filling. Following my chocoholic instincts, I decided to make the filling of my Yule Log chocolate ice cream, with a little bit of vanilla ice cream as well.

I used the recipe for chocolate sponge cake/jelly roll in my grandma’s Betty Crocker cookbook, but you can find something similar here or here.

Since we don’t have a jelly roll pan, I used something just a little bit smaller. It seemed to turn out alright, though.

Here’s a tip from the Betty Crocker cookbook: place the cake on a long towel RIGHT AFTER it comes out of the oven. Break off all the hard edges (make sure you do this – I didn’t, and I think this is why mine broke a little bit), then roll the cake and towel firmly but gently. Let it cool like this.

I filled mine with chocolate ice cream and a little bit of vanilla ice cream, and covered it with milk chocolate buttercream frosting. Other possibilities are whipped cream, raspberry cream, or any other yummy ice cream flavor.

Tip: If you are refrigerating your cake, it is a good idea to do the log-like lines in the frosting after it has been refrigerated. I wish I had thought to do this – that way, the frosting won’t stick to the knife as much and you will have cleaner lines.

How do you make your yule log?

This entry was posted in cakes, holiday/event and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Chocolate Christmas Yule Log

  1. For next Christmas, try this authentic French recipe: Christmas yule log with chocolate and chestnut paste – Bûche de Noël au chocolat et crème de marrons
    http://buyproductsfromfrance.com/2010/12/20/french-recipe-christmas-yule-log-chocolate-chestnuts-recette-buche-de-noel-chocolat-marrons/

Leave a Reply

