Chocolate Souffle, s’il vous plait

For Valentine’s Day, I decided to tackle one of the most difficult desserts:

Chocolate souffle.

I’d never had a chocolate souffle, or even seen one. I didn’t know what to expect. The only thing I knew about souffles is that they collapse very easily (this knowledge is from an episode of Madeline that I saw many years ago. Remember the one where they all go to cooking school and Chloe’s souffle collapses right before their eyes?? Ohh, Mondieur!!!!)

I was a little wary to try this one out. I’m a perfectionist, so I knew I wouldn’t respond well if my souffle’s fate was similar to Chloe’s.

I used this recipe from Cooking Light.

Although not mentioned in the recipe, I melted 3 grams of Ghiradelli semi-sweet chocolate and included it in the chocolate mixture.

Ha-HA! Look at that!  They puffed!!!!!!!

Mine baked for about 45 minutes, but they should have been baked for  a little more. Let’s just say they were a little….moist? in the middle. I tried to research if this was supposed to happen. Some people say it is, some people say that it isn’t. Does anyone know for sure if chocolate souffles are supposed to be a little gooey in the middle? Not completely unbaked, but still a little wet?

In any case, these were really delicious! They really had such a rich chocolate flavor – perfect for Valentine’s Day!!!!!!!

All in all, I had a pretty nice Valentine’s Day this year. Earlier in the day, I had a nice brunch with my friends and saw the movie Valentine’s Day (go see it! It’s so cute, and directed by the guy who did Pretty Woman, Princess Diaries, Never Been Kissed AND Runaway Bride!! So it’s a guaranteed great! ).

But hey, I was just happy my souffle puffed. =)

This entry was posted in cakes, holiday/event and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

