Cake Decorating Fun

I’m sorry I haven’t posted in some time….we have had two tragic losses in our family this spring, and I have had finals, graduation, prom, grad parties, and the dreaded….

the horrible….

AP TESTS.

For a high school senior, already enrolled in college and ready to move on, nothing is more frustrating than having to take AP Tests. We’re so exhausted from four years’ worth of sleep deprivation and studying. It’s just cruel to make us sit through four hours long tests just as we’re about to leave for good.

To celebrate my last day of World History AP class, I decided to make my class a strawberry cake with strawberry frosting as a filling and vanilla frosting.

If you regularly read our blog, you know we are the worst possible cake makers. Ever. So I was a little nervous about making a cake for my class….

It went well in the beginning. The cakes even came out of the pans intact! It was like magic – that had never happened before!!

I let the cakes cool completely before I stuck them together with the strawberry filling.

This is where I failed (if it were an AP Test, I wouldn’t even have gotten a 1 score). The strawberry filling was too thin and liquidy. No matter what I tried, it wouldn’t thicken.

So the top cake layer started sliding over to the left. Slowly but surely, a good chunk of the left side was hanging over the bottom cake layer.

I tried to cut it off and cover the whole mess up with frosting. Fail again.

In time, I was able to hide it at least a little bit with the vanilla frosting, but it put up one heck of a fight first!

My favorite part of making this cake was decorating it. As I was preparing the frosting and filling, I found some icing decorating tips in a drawer that we’ve never used. Score!

The “helots and ADD” thing is an inside joke about our class….the ADD is pretty self-explanatory though….it’s what results when you have a class full of restless second semester seniors! =)

This entry was posted in cakes, epic fail and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

